Staff Directory

HGEA has offices in Honolulu, Hilo, Wailuku and Lihue, and is run by a skilled and professional staff who provides quality representation and membership services to those in the union’s eight bargaining units, as well as Associate members (composed primarily of retirees, other state and county employees and officials, and federal and private sector employees). The staff is headed by Executive Director Randy Perreira, who was appointed in January 2008 and is the fifth executive director to lead HGEA since its founding in 1934.

To find the HGEA union agent that represents you, log in to the Member Dashboard and look in the right column for the box labeled "My Union Agent". Your bargaining unit and corresponding contract & salary schedule can also be found in the left column when you log in to the Member Dashboard.

Office of the Executive Director

Randy Perreira, Executive Director 543-0011 rperreir@hgea.org
Jodi Endo Chai, Deputy Executive Director 543-0029 jchai@hgea.org
Taryn Nishijo Kimble, Private Secretary to the Deputy Executive Director 543-0009 tnishijo@hgea.org
Carol Arikawa, Private Secretary to the Field Administrator 543-0013 carikawa@hgea.org
Irene Puuohau, Special Assistant to the Executive Director 543-0019 ipuuohau@hgea.org

Field Services

Oahu Island Division

Sanford Chun, Executive Assistant for Field Services 543-0070 schun@hgea.org
Joy Kuwabara, Field Services Officer 543-0078 jkuwabar@hgea.org
Joan Takano, Field Services Officer 543-0043 jtakano@hgea.org
Kretia Wong, Field Services Officer 543-0086 kwong@hgea.org

Jermel Anderson, Union Agent 543-0044 janderson@hgea.org
Kapono Apao, Union Agent 543-0031 kapao@hgea.org
Chris Burnett, Union Agent 543-0036 cburnett@hgea.org
William Chai, Union Agent 543-0045 wchai@hgea.org
Rick Hartsell, Union Agent 543-0062 rhartsell@hgea.org
Erika Liashenko, Union Agent 543-0083 eliashenko@hgea.org
Chad Ngai, Union Agent 543-0042 cngai@hgea.org
Denise Sugihara, Union Agent 543-0046 dsugihara@hgea.org
Marvis Tauala, Union Agent 543-0091 mtauala@hgea.org
Jaelyssa Tomada, Union Agent 543-0061 jtomada@hgea.org
Brent Toyama, Union Agent  543-0034 btoyama@hgea.org
Donny Utu, Union Agent 543-0038 dutu@hgea.org
Scott Collins, Field Support Specialist 543-0085 scollins@hgea.org

Hawaii Island Division

Lorena Kauhi, Union Agent 961-0761 lkauhi@hgea.org
Maile Etherton, Union Agent 961-0764 metherton@hgea.org
Earl Hatada, Union Agent 961-0762 ehatada@hgea.org
Moana Hokoana, Union Agent 961-0767 mhokoana@hgea.org
Ann Ebesuno, Field Support Specialist 961-0763 aebesuno@hgea.org
Bernice Goodness-Viveiros, Field Services Technician 961-0765 bgoodness@hgea.org    

Maui Island Division

Michele Mitra, Division Chief 243-4464 mmitra@hgea.org
Joy Bulosan, Union Agent 243-4463 jbulosan@hgea.org
John Costales Jr., Union Agent 243-4465 jcostales@hgea.org
Jennie Aruda, Office Secretary 243-4460 jaruda@hgea.org     

Kauai Island Division

Gerald Ako, Division Chief 245-6751 gako@hgea.org
Dale Shimomura, Union Agent 241-5361 dshimomu@hgea.org
Joni Taba, Field Services Technician 241-5360 jtaba@hgea.org      

Administration Services

Communications

Caroline Sluyter, Communications Officer 543-0047 csluyter@hgea.org
Jenny Nakagawa, Senior Communications Specialist 543-0024 jnakagawa@hgea.org
Lariel Sato, Communications Specialist 543-0063 lsato@hgea.org    

Financial Services

Maureen Wakuzawa, Financial Officer 543-0041 mwakuzaw@hgea.org
Paula Kobayashi, Assistant Controller 543-0032 pkobayashi@hgea.org
Joni Yamamoto, Accounting Specialist 543-0037 jyamamot@hgea.org
Claire Ancheta, Membership Services Technician 543-0092 cancheta@hgea.org
Jerileen Lono, Membership Services Technician 543-0065 jlono@hgea.org
Sharlene Oka, Membership Services Technician 543-0068 soka@hgea.org
Ginalyn Shinagawa, Membership Services Technician 543-0039 gshinagawa@hgea.org
Maile Tupouniua, Membership Services Technician 543-0094 mtupouniua@hgea.org
Sheryl-Ann Wong, Account Technician 543-0068 swong@hgea.org
Margaret Brash, Member Service Center Representative 543-0072 mbrash@hgea.org

Human Resources

Lyan Bonn, Human Resources Manager 543-0007 lbonn@hgea.org

Information Technology

Everett Inamasu, Information Technology Manager 543-0015 einamasu@hgea.org
Chris Giffen, Information Technology Specialist 543-0014 cgiffen@hgea.org
Kanani Naauao, Information Technology Specialist 543-0025 knaauao@hgea.org    

Member Engagement

Kevin Hirayama, Member Engagement Specialist 543-0089 khirayama@hgea.org
Wesley Aki, Member and Community Engagement Coordinator 543-0088 waki@hgea.org      

Legislative

Michele Kurihara-Klein, Legislative Officer 543-0093 mkurihara@hgea.org
Brian Taniguchi, Public Policy/Legislative Specialist 543-0030 btaniguchi@hgea.org
Karlie Asato, Legislative Support Staff 543-0053 kasato@hgea.org

Office Services

Nate Wong, Office Services Specialist 543-0064 nwong@hgea.org
Dean Makimoto, Office Services Assistant 543-0028 dmakimot@hgea.org
James Oshiro, Print Shop Technician 543-0026 joshiro@hgea.org

Retirees Unit

Mahie Trask, Retirees Unit Administrator 543-0090 mtrask@hgea.org
Tammy Gann, Office Secretary 543-0054 tgann@hgea.org      

AFSCME - Hawaii Area

Elizabeth Ho, Area Field Services Director 543-0022 lho@hgea.org
Toni Rust, Union Agent 543-0020 trust@hgea.org
Iris Chun, Secretary 543-0004 ichun@hgea.org