Staff Directory

HGEA has offices in Honolulu, Hilo, Wailuku and Lihue, and is run by a skilled and professional staff who provides quality representation and membership services to those in the union’s eight bargaining units, as well as Associate members (composed primarily of retirees, other state and county employees and officials, and federal and private sector employees). The staff is headed by Executive Director Randy Perreira, who was appointed in January 2008 and is the fifth executive director to lead HGEA since its founding in 1934.

To find the HGEA union agent that represents you, log in to the Member Dashboard and look in the right column for the box labeled "My Union Agent". Your bargaining unit and corresponding contract & salary schedule can also be found in the left column when you log in to the Member Dashboard.

Office of the Executive Director

Randy Perreira, Executive Director 543-0011
Jodi Endo Chai, Deputy Executive Director – Administration 543-0029
Ian Takashiba, Field Administrator 543-0003
Kay Mendes, Private Secretary to the Executive Director 543-0012
Taryn Nishijo, Private Secretary to the Deputy Executive Director – Administration 543-0009
Carol Arikawa, Private Secretary to the Field Administrator 543-0013
Irene Puuohau, Special Assistant to the Executive Director 543-0019

Field Services

Oahu Island Division

Sanford Chun, Executive Assistant for Field Services 543-0070
Kretia Wong, Field Services Officer 543-0086
Joy Kuwabara, Field Specialist 543-0078
Joan Takano, Field Specialist 543-0043

Jermel Anderson, Union Agent 543-0044
Kapono Apao, Union Agent 543-0031
Chris Burnett, Union Agent 543-0036
William Chai, Union Agent 543-0045
Rick Hartsell, Union Agent 543-0062
Erika Liashenko, Union Agent 543-0083
Kevin Nakata, Union Agent 543-0048
Chad Ngai, Union Agent 543-0042
Denise Sugihara, Union Agent 543-0046
Marvis Tauala, Union Agent 543-0091
Jaelyssa Tomada, Union Agent 543-0061
Brent Toyama, Union Agent  543-0034
Donny Utu, Union Agent 543-0038
Michael Yuen, Union Agent
Scott Collins, Field Support Specialist 543-0085

Hawaii Island Division

Lorena Kauhi, Union Agent 961-0761
Maile Etherton, Union Agent 961-0764
Earl Hatada, Union Agent 961-0762
Moana Hokoana, Union Agent 961-0767
Ann Ebesuno, Field Support Specialist 961-0763
Bernice Goodness-Viveiros, Field Services Technician 961-0765    

Maui Island Division

Michele Mitra, Division Chief 243-4464
Joy Bulosan, Union Agent 243-4463
John Costales Jr., Union Agent 243-4465
Michelle DuBach, Union Agent 243-4462
Jennie Aruda, Office Secretary 243-4460     

Kauai Island Division

Gerald Ako, Division Chief 245-6751
Dale Shimomura, Union Agent 241-5361
Joni Taba, Field Services Technician 241-5360      

Administration Services


Caroline Sluyter, Communications Officer 543-0047
Jenny Nakagawa, Senior Communications Specialist 543-0024
Lariel Sato, Communications Specialist 543-0063    

Financial Services

Maureen Wakuzawa, Financial Officer 543-0041
Paula Kobayashi, Assistant Controller 543-0032
Joni Yamamoto, Accounting Specialist 543-0037
Claire Ancheta, Membership Services Technician 543-0092
Jerileen Lono, Membership Services Technician 543-0065
Sharlene Oka, Membership Services Technician 543-0068
Ginalyn Shinagawa, Membership Services Technician 543-0039
Malie Tupouniua, Membership Services Technician 543-0094
Sheryl-Ann Wong, Account Technician 543-0068
Margaret Brash, Member Service Center Representative 543-0072

Human Resources

Lyan Bonn, Human Resources Manager 543-0007

Information Technology

Everett Inamasu, Information Technology Manager 543-0015
Chris Giffen, Information Technology Specialist 543-0014
Kanani Naauao, Information Technology Specialist 543-0025    

Member Engagement

Kevin Hirayama, Member Engagement Specialist 543-0089
Wesley Aki, Member and Community Engagement Coordinator 543-0088      


Michele Kurihara-Klein, Legislative Officer 543-0093
Brian Taniguchi, Public Policy/Legislative Specialist 543-0030
Karlie Asato, Legislative Support Staff 543-0053

Office Services

Nate Wong, Office Services Specialist 543-0064
Dean Makimoto, Office Services Assistant 543-0028
James Oshiro, Print Shop Technician 543-0026

Retirees Unit

Mahie Trask, Retirees Unit Administrator 543-0090
Tammy Gann, Office Secretary 543-0054      

AFSCME - Hawaii Area

Elizabeth Ho, Area Field Services Director 543-0022
Toni Rust, Union Agent 543-0020
Iris Chun, Secretary 543-0004